hwglamour on FB

Archives

Post Calendar

July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
FitFluential Is Fitness Found

Pinning

  • Summer Fiesta Bean Salad. So easy, so colorful!

  • Honey Grilled Watermelon Caprese Salads I howsweeteats.com

  • Tips for Studying for the CPT Exam with NASM! #NASM #CPT #FitFluential

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

Grab Button

Housewife Glamour Grab Button

Archive for the ‘Reviews’ Category

June 9, 2014

June Stitch Fix Breakdown

I have been secretly waiting to document this month’s Stitch Fix.

At the moment, I don’t have my memory card to my camera and keep forgetting to get it back from Scott’s office. Finally, I said “forget it” and decided to snap photos and share them with you guys a la iPhoneography.

(I hope you don’t mind slightly overexposed, somewhat blurry photos!)

Every month, I receive a box from Stitch Fix (<- affiliate link), an online styling service I have blogged about numerous times. For those of you who haven’t heard of it before, you’re clearly a newcomer to the blog, (welcome!) and you can find out more about how it all works here.

June 2014 Stitch Fix Breakdown

As soon as I opened my fix this month, I thought choosing my items to keep would be a challenge. Everything looked right up my alley including:

This Bay to Baubles Danielle Long Knot Necklace for $36…

Bay to Baubles Danielle Long Knot Necklace

similar, similar

This Collective Concepts Christie Cross-Front Ruffle Detail Tank ($64)…

Stitch Fix Collective Concepts Tank

similar, similar, similar (<- and way cuter at a great price!)

And this 41 Hawthorn Iris Striped A-Line Skirt priced at $58.

Stitch Fix 41 Hawthorn Iris Striped A-Line Skirt

similar, similar, similar

I opened my fix on Saturday, but didn’t do anything with the pieces until earlier this afternoon. I figured I would have to contemplate what to keep and what to return for a while, so I started trying everything on to help the process along.

Stitch Fix June 2014

Within seconds of trying on each piece, my decisions were made.

I loved how the 41 Hawthorn Toullouse Collared Wrap Dress ($68) looked on the styling sheet, but hated how it looked on me.

Stitch Fix 41 Hawthorn Toullouse Collared Wrap Dress collage

It was too big and all sorts of long for me to ever wear in public.

Next on the return list was the pink ruffle tank I mentioned above.

Stitch Fix Collective Concepts Christie Cross-Front Ruffle Detail Tank

I thought it would be cute, but when I tried it on the style just wasn’t right for me. I’ve never been a fan of elastic at the bottom of shirts or dresses. Instead, I prefer lines higher on the waist like this ruffle tank. (<- want!)

I was on the fence about the necklace, because I thought it was adorable and unlike any other necklace I already own. I decided against it at the last minute, trying to keep my cost of this fix close to the $100 mark.

There are two exciting additions to my wardrobe, thanks to this fix: the A-Line skirt (mentioned above) and this 41 Hawthorn Filbert 3/4 Sleeve Popover Blouse for $58.

Stitch Fix June 2014 Keeping Pile

This is my favorite type of blouse to wear to church or out to dinner on the weekends, and I love the gathering and poof around the elbow.

Both items were still a little expensive for my liking, but I ended up using some of the referral credit (thanks, guys!) to make it more affordable.

Overall, this fix is a win, but I’m still waiting for another one that I just have to keep everything!

What about you… are you a Sitch Fixer?

If so, are you still loving it, or slightly over it?

Previous Stitch Fix Reviews

May 2014 – Stitch Fix #6: May Stitch Fix Breakdown

April 2014 – Stitch Fix #5: Just a Few Quality Pieces a Month

March 2014 – Stitch Fix #4: Yes and Nos

February 2014 – Stitch Fix #3: That Time I Kept Everything

January 2014 – Stitch Fix #2: Second Stitch Fix for the Win

December 2013 – Stitch Fix #1: My First Stitch Fix

Note: Although I included an affiliate link at the top, this post was not sponsored. I pay for my service and the clothing on my own, and wanted to share the company with you because I enjoy the styling service. I do get a small credit towards my fixes if you sign up using my referral link at the top, and your support is always grately appreciated!

May 13, 2014

May Stitch Fix Breakdown

Hello fashionistas! (And fashionistos? Maybe? No? Okay.)

Gah… is it already almost dinner time? Where the heck did the day go?

I guess I’ll update you all about how mine went on tomorrow’s What I Ate Wednesday post. I know, you’re just so excited to see it. (Kidding. Well, kind of for some of you foodies out there.)

This (late) afternoon, as promised, I am back to share my latest box of fashion fun, also known as Stitch Fix (<- affiliate link) with you! If you are new to the blog or concept of this online styling service, check out my first review, for all the details! You might even be able to just scroll around on Bloglovin’ too. SF is becoming quite the popular fashion trend these days!

This month’s fix included:

This adorable Bay to Baubles Ombre Collar Necklace for $44.

stitch fix bay to baubles mumford beaded obbre collar necklace

This Mystree Brookes Textured Swing Skirt in the $50s. (Sorry about the estimates. I accidentally threw the paper with price information away!)

stitch fix mystree brokes textrued swing skirt

This Papermoon Shakira Lace Sleeve Blouse for $48(ish?).

stitch fix papermoon shakira lace sleeve blouse

This Honey Punch Wakeman Crochet Open Cardigan for $68 (I think?).

stitch fix honey punch wakeman crochet open cardigan

And this Loveappella Carlita Jersey Maxi Dress for $78.

stitch fix loveappella carlita jersey maxi dress

I choose to include a detailed list of every item I receive in each box, just in case any of you see something you would like to personally request for yours. Occasionally, if you request something specific for your next fix in your review and they have your size of the item in stock they’ll try to throw it in there for you!

While I have purchased my entire box (and received a great buy-all 25% off discount) before, it just wasn’t in the cards for this one.

At first glance, I thought the fix hit the ballpark of my style, so I went onto trying everything on to help me decide what to keep and what to send back. Any guesses?

May Stitch Fix nos

I did not keep any of these items.

(Ignore that wrinkly discolored light pink tank on the left, by the way.)

I liked the idea of the skirt, however I didn’t like the material or print on me. I would love to collect more high wasted flowy skirts for my wardrobe, but this one just wasn’t doing it for me for the price.

As for the crochet cardigan, I also liked the idea of this one. As soon as I put it on, however, I felt very grandma with the large fit and pattern. Hearing an “absolutely not” from Scott across the room didn’t help it’s case either.

I actually really liked the maxi dress. I have been wearing the crap out of them lately and want to get more solid colored maxis for the spring. I loved the fit and comfortable material of this one, but didn’t like the $78 price tag attached to it. I could definitely find something very similar for cheaper, so I decided that one would also be a no.

Now onto the yes pile!

I tried on the white blouse with pieces I already had to see how exactly I would wear it and if I liked it.

May Stitch Fix box keeping

(I got these orange skinny jeans from Forever 21 forever ago and recently picked up these tan ballet flats from Target.)

The necklace was on obvious keep for me. I swoon over a good statement necklace and this one is unlike any other one I own. I am all about teals, mints, and greens lately!

I loved the blouse as soon as I saw it, but it wasn’t until I tried it on and noticed the sheer lace on the sleeve that I was sold.

stitch fix shakira lace sleeve blouse

That kind of detail adds a little fun to it and is also unlike anything else in my closet.

And there you have another month of fixin’. Now that I’m pretty sure the majority of you know what Stitch Fix is, I wasn’t sure I was going to continue to post my box and all of the items every single month. But, after reading your positive feedback and enthusiasm about seeing the items I receive, I have decided to keep them coming.

I have to say, however, that this fix confused me a little. To help steer my stylists closer to my desired style I have been pinning more to my Fashion board and might even create an entire new one just with Stitch Fix clothing. Can’t hurt, right?

Overall, I am sixth months in and am still loving this online styling service!

Previous Stitch Fix Reviews

December 2013 – Stitch Fix #1: My First Stitch Fix

January 2014 – Stitch Fix #2: Second Stitch Fix for the Win

February 2014 – Stitch Fix #3: That Time I Kept Everything

March 2014 – Stitch Fix #4: Yes and Nos

April 2014 – Stitch Fix #5: Just a Few Quality Pieces a Month

Note: Although I included an affiliate link at the top, this post was not sponsored in any way. I pay for my service and the clothing on my own, and wanted to share the company with you because I enjoy the service. I do get a small credit towards my fixes if you sign up using my referral link at the top, and as always, any support is greatly appreciated!

Before I go, I want to wish my sister, Trish, (a fellow Stitch Fixer) a very Happy Birthday! Wish I was still home to celebrate with you.

Florida Trip with Trish

Have a great rest of your Tuesday!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Welcome

Follow on Bloglovin

Contact

Contact

Top food blogs

Upcoming Events

IDEA Fit BlogFest
August 14-17 - Anaheim, CA

Detroit Free Press Half Marathon, as a proud member of Team Kensington
October 19th - Detroit, MI

Categories

Instagram

 

dailymile



I am not a registered dietician, nutritionist, or certified fitness professional. The workouts I post are what work best for me, but might not be the right type of exercises for you.



I do NOT post everything I eat. All content I post on this blog stems from my personal experience and knowledge, and I recommend consulting a doctor or health professional before making changes to your diet or fitness routine.



Also, please understand that affiliate links may pop up on the blog from time to time. I acknowledge when they appear and always genuinely appreciate your support! ♥



%d bloggers like this: