hwglamour on FB

Archives

Post Calendar

September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
POPSUGAR Select Fitness
FitFluential Is Fitness Found

Pinning

  • 5 Lipsticks to Try for Fall -Momo

  • Tips for completing a triathlon -Momo

  • floors and door

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

Grab Button

Housewife Glamour Grab Button

Archive for the ‘Reviews’ Category

September 11, 2014

Metamucil® Recipes + $100 Meijer Gift Card Giveaway

The following post is sponsored by Meijer on behalf of Metamucil®.

Most Americans don’t get enough fiber in their diet. But nobody, especially under the age of fifty, really cares about their fiber intake, right? Wrong. I do, and think we all should!

Not only does a healthy dose of fiber keep you regular, but it can also help to maintain a healthy weight, help reduce high levels of cholesterol, and help lower the risk of diabetes and heart disease.

Metamucil® is on a mission to educate people on the importance of fiber and how easy (and tasty!) it is to get the recommended amount daily.

high fiber easy metamucil recipes

So, exactly how much is recommended?

As a 29-year-old female, it is recommended for me (and all women between the ages of 18-50) to get 25 grams of fiber per day! I really couldn’t tell you if that happens, but I have been enjoying using the Metamucil® powders at home this week just to be sure.

(Calculate your own fiber number and see meal plan suggestions with this Fiber Toolkit!)

There are plenty of foods high in fiber content, especially in fruits, whole grains, and vegetables.

fruits high in fiber - metamucil fiber guide

source

grains high in fiber - metamucil fiber guide

source

vegetables high in fiber - metamucil fiber guide

source

To help fill in the gaps on the days you aren’t sure you are getting the recommended daily amount of fiber, Metamucil® created a digital recipe book to show how easy taking the supplement can be.

metamucil fiber supplement and benefits

source

All of the following recipes were created for and featured in the new digital recipe book, and I remade them at home. I hope you enjoy the high fiber inspirations and don’t forget to keep ‘on scrolling for an exciting giveaway!

Citrus Spritzer

This citrus spritzer recipe can help you relax and enjoy any occasion while you reap the health benefits of adding more fiber to your diet.

citrus spritzer metamucil

*3 grams of fiber*

Ingredients

1/3 cup grapefruit juice

1/3 cup orange juice

1/3 cup club soda

1 rounded teaspoon Metamucil® Sugar Free Original Smooth powder

(I used Sugar-Free Orange Smooth Metamucil® powder)

Directions

Pour juices and club soda into a glass along with a few ice cubes. Add Metamucil® and stir briskly. A great breakfast-time refresher!

(Berry Pink!) Morning Meta-Muffins

Using the Berry flavor turned them pink! I loved it. Yields 12 muffins.

Serving size: 1 muffin = 1 Adult Serving of Metamucil®.

pink meta-muffins metamucil recipe

*4 grams of fiber*

Ingredients

1 cup of fat-free milk

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup applesauce

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

2/3 cup of brown sugar

1 cup flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1 cup blueberries

12 teaspoon Sugar-Free Original Smooth Metamucil® powder

(I used Sugar-Free Berry Smooth Metamucil® powder)

Directions

1. Pre-heat oven to 375 ̊F. Mix milk, egg, vanilla, applesauce, cinnamon and sugar.

2. In separate container mix flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Slowly add flour mixture to milk mixture, once well mixed, add blueberries and mix in the Metamucil then pour into muffin tin.

3. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the outer rim of the muffins are light brown.

4. Drink 8 ounces of water with each muffin.

Strawberry-Kiwi Sipper

Strawberry smoothie recipes are known for their tasty flavor and ability to mix with other fruits. This version, enhanced with kiwi and Metamucil®, is a great way to sneak more fiber into your diet.

Strawberry Kiwi Sipper Metamucil Smoothie

*12 grams of fiber*

Ingredients

1 medium peeled banana

2 kiwis, peeled and chopped

1/2 cup (4 oz) apple juice

1/2 cup (4 oz) frozen strawberries

1 rounded teaspoon of Metamucil® Original Coarse or Metamucil® Sugar-Free Original Smooth Powder

(I used Sugar-Free Berry Smooth Metamucil® powder)

crushed or cubed ice

Directions

Combine all ingredients in a blender and mix until ice is crushed.

Iced Tea Delight

Mix your favorite flavor of iced tea with Metamucil® for a refreshing way to sneak more fiber into your diet. I used a spiced apple chai tea and loved the extra tang of the Orange flavor!

metamucil iced tea recipe

*3 grams of fiber*

Ingredients

1 cup cold brewed or instant tea

1 rounded teaspoon Metamucil® Original Coarse

(I used Sugar-Free Orange Smooth Metamucil® powder)

crushed or cubed ice

Directions

1. Mix Metamucil® with iced tea and stir or shake thoroughly.

2. Serve with plenty of ice cubes, and add sugar, lemon, or mint leaves to taste.

3. If you prefer an orange twist, try preparing iced tea using 1 rounded tablespoon of Metamucil Orange Smooth or 1 rounded teaspoon of Metamucil® Orange Sugar Free Smooth. (That’s what I did!)

***

$100 Meijer Gift Card Giveaway

To get you up and moving on the fiber train, Meijer is offering one lucky Housewife Glamour reader $100 credit to their store to go grab some Metamucil® and groceries to make your own recipes!

meijer gift card giveaway

For those of you who haven’t heard of Meijer (I hadn’t until I moved to the mid-west), it’s a hypermarket chain that has become a one-stop shop for name brands on groceries, clothing, and home goods at a great value. I prefer to do my big grocery hauls here and always love their huge produce section and Meijer Organics brand!

Meijer stores can be found in Michigan, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, and Ohio. Find the nearest location to you and enter to win a gift card to get shopping!

To Enter:

Leave a comment on this post (mandatory!) sharing one way you like/would like to make sure you get enough fiber in your diet and enter at least one additional entry into Rafflecopter.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

You have until Midnight Monday, September 15th E.S.T to enter the giveaway. The winner will be announced Tuesday morning, the 16th.

Don’t forget to leave a comment on this post below! You must do so in order for your entry into Rafflecopter to count.

Good Luck!

***

Related Articles and Fiber Facts

Check out this video to find out even more ways fiber can help you!

The psyllium fiber from Metamucil benefits your health in so many ways.

Find everyday tips for adding fiber into your diet.

It’s never too early or too late to help reduce the risk of heart disease by adding fiber into your diet.

Disclaimer: While I was compensated for this post, all thoughts and opinions on the brands mentioned above remain my own!

September 9, 2014

Welcome Back, Stitch Fix

Hello! After taking the summer off from fashion “fixes”, I have returned to getting mine through Stitch Fix! (<- affiliate link)

If you are new to the blog or concept of this online styling service (hi new friend!) check out my first review, for all the details. You might even be able to just scroll around on Bloglovin’ too. The company has certainly expanded in a huge way and has become quite popular in the blog world over the past year!

This month’s fix included:

These Bay to Baubles Earrings Desiree Carved Lace Circle Drop Earrings for $28.

bay to baubles stitch fix gold earrings

(similar, similar, similar)

This Melody Lace Embellished Sleeveless Blouse for $48.

stitch fix papermoon blouse close up

I was instantly drawn to the color and lace detail at the top.

stitch fix papermoon melody lace blouse

(similar, similar, similar)

A top like this is great to dress down with a pair of jean shorts and sandals for the end of Summer, or dress up with a pencil skirt, heels, and accessories for a night out!

This Harriet Geo Print Fit & Flare Dress for $64.

stitch fix 41hawthorn harriet geo print dress

(similar, similar, similar)

This dress was almost an automatic yes before I even tried it on. Perfect for a fancy dinner or wedding, right? The best part is the zipper detail on the back, which is shown in my photos below.

This Shermineh Faux Leather Detail Ponte Pant for $64.

stitch fix faux leather detail pant

(similar, similar, similar)

These almost look suede in the photo, but they are just your standard thick legging with faux leather side paneling. I have actually been wanting a pair of pants like this for a while, so I was happy to see them included.

This Thisbe Colorblocked Open Draped Cardigan for $28.

stitch fix renee C soft orange draped cardigan

(similar, similar, similar)

I really didn’t think I would be keeping the entire box. I could do without the earrings and cardigan, but really LOVED the dress and idea of the faux leather pants for a fun night out. I adored the purple sleeveless blouse, but was on the fence because of the price.

Stitch Fix review

I was very back and forth on the cardigan. I liked the colorblocked pattern, but wasn’t sure about the extreme difference in length in front. It’s super comfortable and is a piece I could throw on with a pair of jeans or even over a workout outfit when it starts getting cooler, and I can almost (almost) wrap it around my neck like a scarf.

stitch fix colorblock draped cardigan

Ha, I’m totally kidding. That’s just me being ridiculous. Ignore it.

I did the math and figured out that if I were to just get the dress and pants, my total would be $128. For two items, I wasn’t too excited about that. I glanced over at the “buy all discount” which offers a twenty-five percent discount off of the entire box if you keep it all, which then made my total $159 for all five items after the $20 styling fee was deducted.

(There is a $20 styling fee, but if you even decide to keep one item, that credit goes towards your fix and is taken off from your total. I have never been charged a styling fee, since I have always kept at least something from each fix!)

So, for and additional $30 (basically the price for the earrings) I would also be getting the cardigan and blouse for “free.” I quoted “free”, because I know nothing is free here. But technically, it kind of is in this situation.

Overall Review

My main hang up with Stitch Fix in the past has been the price. I feel like a lot of the items in my fixes are overpriced. This one, however, was right on point.

I don’t usually spend over $50 for a dress or a pair of nice pants… but the quality of those pieces were prominent. If you divide my total of $159 by the five items, it averages to cost $30 an item, which in my opinion, is a normal amount to spend on clothes that get me out of my normal yoga pants and fitness tanks.

Stitch Fix has had a lot of ups and downs over the past several months. One month everyone is raving about the service, and the next everyone seems to be disappointed. Personally, I have always enjoyed the service and get at least one or two new staple additions to my wardrobe each go around.

There have been plenty of pieces I haven’t liked, and I am always honest in my reviews. I choose to include everything on my posts about my fixes because even if the style isn’t right for me, it is for someone else out there and I have seen a large amount my “no’s” get pinned and passed around Pinterest on style ideas and inspirations for others. I love that.

Improve Your Fixes

I have always mentioned this to those who have asked, but in order to make your fixes cater towards exactly what you are looking for, you have to be overly specific in the comment sections of your reviews.

Upon checkout, you select whether you are keeping each item and rate it on how close it was to your desired style, fit, and price. I almost always say “too high” for my price point. I don’t want to see a $100 dress in my box, and if I get one I won’t be keeping it. After all of my previous fixes and reviews, they get that.

Also, I make sure to utilize the extra comments box to request a certain style or specific pieces for my next fix. For example, this month I noted that I am set on black pants and am looking to add more colored jeans to my wardrobe, like a maroon for Fall. I am also looking for jean or colored jean jackets to layer with, and a carry-all brown purse. Let’s see how they deliver next month!

To make sure you are getting the closest to what you are hoping for, periodically update your style profile on their website (I know mine can change!) and pin as much as you can to your Fashion board on Pinterest. You could even create a “Fashion for Stitch Fix” board. They definitely look at that and use the styles you like as inspiration in your fixes.

***

I hope you enjoy reading these reviews, because they are fun for me to put together. Have you ever tried Stitch Fix? Thoughts?

Feel free to share your experiences below!

Previous Stitch Fix Reviews

December 2013 – Stitch Fix #1: My First Stitch Fix

January 2014 – Stitch Fix #2: Second Stitch Fix for the Win

February 2014 – Stitch Fix #3: That Time I Kept Everything

March 2014 – Stitch Fix #4: Yes and Nos

April 2014 – Stitch Fix #5: Just a Few Quality Pieces a Month

May 2014 – Stitch Fix #6: May StitchFix Breakdown

***

Disclamer: Although I included an affiliate link at the top, this post was not sponsored. I pay for my service and the clothing on my own, and wanted to share the company with you because I enjoy the service. I do get a small credit towards my fixes if you sign up using my referral link. Please realize that other affiliate links are included. As always, any support is greatly appreciated! <3

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Welcome

Follow on Bloglovin

Contact

Contact

Top food blogs

Upcoming Events

Detroit Free Press Half Marathon, as a proud member of Team Kensington
October 19th - Detroit, MI

Categories

Instagram

 

dailymile



I am not a registered dietician, nutritionist, or certified fitness professional. The workouts I post are what work best for me, but might not be the right type of exercises for you.



I do NOT post everything I eat. All content I post on this blog stems from my personal experience and knowledge, and I recommend consulting a doctor or health professional before making changes to your diet or fitness routine.



Also, please understand that affiliate links may pop up on the blog from time to time. I acknowledge when they appear and always genuinely appreciate your support! ♥



%d bloggers like this: